Ask an Umpire: Shot restriction in the first two ends and player shadowing

This edition of Ask and Umpire covers Shot restriction in the first two ends of a game and player shadowing Q: "Seeking clarification for Law 22.1 with regard to how shots are determined in situations which do not fall under Law 57.2.2.  My question is this - if a Controlling Body was to introduce a Condition …

Continue reading Ask an Umpire: Shot restriction in the first two ends and player shadowing

Ask an Umpire: Being at the head, foot positioning, and rink possession

This volume of ask an umpire covers having your second at the head, foot positioning, and possession of the rink Q: Is the second in Triples allowed to be at the head until they play their bowls? Or do they start and stay at the mat end until they have played their bowls? Would the …

Continue reading Ask an Umpire: Being at the head, foot positioning, and rink possession