Ask an Umpire: Being at the head, foot positioning, and rink possession

This volume of ask an umpire covers having your second at the head, foot positioning, and possession of the rink Q: Is the second in Triples allowed to be at the head until they play their bowls? Or do they start and stay at the mat end until they have played their bowls? Would the …

Continue reading Ask an Umpire: Being at the head, foot positioning, and rink possession

Ask an Umpire: Jack Delivery, Mat positioning, and Law 8

This volume of Ask an umpire covers Jack Delivery, Mat positioning, and Law 8 Q: In the situation where Team 1’s jack needs to be re-rolled, does the lead for Team 2 get to reposition the mat, or does it stay where Team 1’s lead originally placed it? A: If the jack is delivered and …

Continue reading Ask an Umpire: Jack Delivery, Mat positioning, and Law 8